Triptych I – Norwegian Sunrise

6 02 2010

Final touches.

Two thirds done – ready to work on the reflections in the water.

The painting was completely dry after the lengthy break, so it took some effort to pick back up.  I paint “wet-into-wet”, usually making edges or color transitions smoother.

The blank triptych on the easle.

 

Miracles never cease – I managed to obtain a DSL line at the beach condo from Fairpoint, so I am back in business. It’s been a busy week, getting unpacked and set up, but I have started on this project. Here’s where we are.
I screwed together the three 48″ x 24″ panels with a couple of 1/4″ slats and got them on the easle.

As usual, I did a quick line drawing of the scene.

Line drawing (Triptych).

Then I toned most of the canvas with alizarin crimson for an overall reddish glow.

Toned canvas.

Here I am underpainting the major areas of the scene.

Underpainting.

The triptych is complete, except for finalizing the unexposed edges, after it has been dried and disassembled.  As usual, there will be things I’d wished I’d done differently, but overall, for my first triptych (48″ x 72″, or three 24″ x 48″ canvases) I am pleased with the results.  Even my wife approves!

Artist with completed work.

The artist with the completed work.

Artist with completed work.

Shot from a different angle.

Here is the final version, the three panels still connected.

Triptych I - Norwegian Sunrise.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

